Suggest a film, and win glory, home-made post card.

Right, homekiddies, I do believe you know the drill at this point.  Not only am I trying to be deliberate about what I read, but when I do have downtime, to be deliberate about what movies/television I watch.

Given that I thought both Beneath the Planet of the Apes (when Charlton Heston escapes into the  abandoned subway station to find a telepathic, nuclear-bomb worshipping cult) and Mad Max were good date movies, I think it very clear that I need your help with film choice.

Again I’m open-minded: guilty pleasures, films you only watch when your significant other has dumped you, films that scared the hell out of you when you were little (see: Little Nemo), films that you lecture other people about not understanding what cinema is until they’ve seen it, whatever.  I want the good ones, the crap ones, the inane ones, the embarrassing ones, the offensive ones.

Again, three people will be selected to receive a homemade postcard from a stock of  photos that I took as a 12-year-old, and no longer have any recollection of who the people in the photos are.  All of them terrible photos, all of them hilarious.

Given that I’m working the night shift, I can promise you that I spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about silly things to write on the back of these photos, but beyond that, let’s be honest, they’re pretty crappy prizes.

The real prize is the glory as you show off to the other readers your excellent/delightfully terrible taste in film.

And now, for a paragraph-long film review of Max and Mary, a 2009 claymation film about two pen-pals, one a sad, ugly girl from Australia, one an fat old Jewish guy from New York City.  The film manages to maintain a lighthearted and sweet tone while morbidly mixing in suicide, mental illness, repressed homosexuality, depression, alcoholism, death etc.  At times a bit cartoon-y in its predictability of what sad thing was to happen next, but overall an engaging and very human film.  Don’t watch it as a feel-good movie like I attempted to do, but worth seeing.  Thanks, Michelle, for the recommendation.

Looking forward to watching whatever you’re watching.  Peace.

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Suggest a film, and win glory, home-made post card.

  1. Zach A. says:

    If you haven’t seen it yet: 500 Days of Summer. Maybe it’s just a feel-good chick flick, but I found it nice after making the mistake of watching “Sunshine” which is much more emotionally distressing than a movie named as such would seem.

  2. Amy says:

    In terms of both novelty, excellence, and convenience…Sita Sings the Blues.

    Novelty: The Ramayana from Sita’s point of view, done in at least four styles of animation, with all climatic moments set to Annette Hanshaw blues songs. Excellence: Seriously. Convenience: It’s all on Youtube, thanks to Creative Commons and its awesome creator Nina Paley.

  3. Minsoo C Lee says:

    Watch Karla & Anti-Christ…only if you want to see the true dark side of human nature. these movies are not for the weak of heart.

  4. I half expect you have seen them, and forgive me if we’ve discussed these films already, but your request reminds me to suggest, perhaps for the second or even third time, Chan Wook Park’s revenge trilogy (consisting of Sympathy for Mr. Vengeanc, Oldboy and Lady Vengeance).

    • big Adam says:

      I’ve seen Old Boy and Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance. Loved Old Boy, was disturbed by Mr. Vengeance, but I’m a big fan of his films.

      Have you seen Thirst?

      Another film you might like is “Max and Mary”

  5. Esther says:

    Jerome Bixby’s The Man on Earth? Oh whatever, I don’t care if you hate it, just send me a postcard please? 😦 Pwetty please?

Leave a Reply

