Recipe: the pesto of my conception

This is a great pesto recipe, my mom’s own, and one that I like to think I owe my existence to.   On my parent’s first date, my mother made my father this pesto, so the family joke is that this is what seduced my father, and by extension, why I was conceived (not on the first date).

At any rate, this is a great recipe and one that is perfect for my attempts to transfer over to a mostly local diet (part of the “living deliberately experiment”).   Basil and garlic (and if you are lucky, a cheese similar to romano or parmesan) can all be grown local.

Wouldn't you be seduced?

2 cups fresh basil, tightly packed

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup parmesan/romano, finely grated

2 cloves garlic

2 tbsp pine nuts (you can always use a little extra)

1/2 tsp salt.

While boiling the pasta, put the basil, olive oil, garlic, pine nuts, and salt into a food processor and blend thoroughly.  Before you drain the pasta, scoop out some of the hot water, and using about a tablespoon, use it to melt the cheese as you add it to the pesto until it is thoroughly blended (this is why it is key to finely grate the cheese).

You can add sweet cherry tomatoes, halved if you like.  Sungolds are perfect because of their sweetness.

NOTE: coming from a Mediterranean region, pesto was originally a vegan recipe, as cheese (and meat) were rather hard to come by.  This recipe works great without the cheese, you will just have to add more salt.

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Food-local, vegetarian, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Recipe: the pesto of my conception

  1. Sheila says:

    whooooooooooooooooooooooa – putting the family secrets out there for everyone to see? This recipe is how I was planning to seduce my future husband! Dangnabbit.

    I can’t wait to have some pesto at the lake or somewhere – I haven’t had a food processor here and it is so frustrating.

    • big Adam says:

      I figured our family has so much charm we gotta share the love…I’ve been going buckwild on the pesto. Doesn’t look likely that I will make it up, unfortunately, but enjoy the pesto!

  2. vegetarilin says:

    What a great story! You can never have enough pesto. I’ve been putting my leftover cilantro pesto on top of salads and using it as a dip for fresh veggies!!

  3. Zach says:

    I went to the place in Italy where pesto comes from (Genoa). Their pesto was pretty delicious.

  4. That’s such a cute story! Although maybe the conception part is a wee bit awkward for you….
    Looks like a nice dish though!

    • big Adam says:

      Aha, well, you see awkward in my family is a very relative concept….that story falls closer to the mundane and boring end of the family spectrum. Alas, glad you at least enjoyed the story…I’m loving your blog as well. Hope you get to try the pesto soon!

  5. conceptopesto says:

    Try parsley with the basil, also substitute walnuts for the pine nuts from the toxic chemistry set known as Chinese agriculture.

Leave a Reply

