Haven’t run in four years. running a marathon in a month. new life experiment

Sometime in the summer of 2007 I had too much to drink at a work event, and having gotten a ride back from a friend, woke up in the morning 15 minutes late, thirsty, and with no way to get to work. I put on an old pair of running shoes and ran the six miles to the office. This was the last time I went on a run of any length over a mile (in 2009 I was late to a date, though in hindsight, not a very important one).

On August 31st, I plan to run a marathon. This will be a New York City marathon, though not the New York City marathon, in that I plan to match as closely as I can the official route.. I don’t have the time to qualify, nor do I enjoy the crowds of decked out “promateurs” that come with such organized events (see this video of a different sport for an example, courtesy of bikesnob:

I do have a running background. In high school, along with mutton chops and a conviction that Pink Floyd was the greatest band ever, I was also a 3-season runner. Then I went to college and discovered 1)I wasn’t very good and 2) that I wanted to try ballet.

So why? About 14 months ago I started a lifestyle experiment that set up a rigorous routine for self-improvement with exact times meted out for exercise, reading, writing, and other pet projects. The problem with setting up a routine like that it is only useful if you have an overall goal in mind. With no real clear idea of what I wanted to do with my life, this became frustrating—and tiring. So for this second year of post-graduate wanderings, I’m switching it up, giving 30 days a piece to various things at which I’ve always wanted to improve or say that I’ve done. I figured I’d start off with one that would be challenging, would really be proving this 30-day method something worth scratching off the bucket list. (Some other potential ideas for future months: breakdancing, a short-story-a-day, living zero waste for a month).

I start tomorrow with a three-mile run tomorrow morning. Will update my progress daily. Tips and tricks and stories will be appreciated.

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

