Marathon Training Day 7: Ran to Queens, Put my Underwear in the Freezer.

I’ve run 5 of the past six days, taking Friday off and running a short two miles with a weighted backpack on Saturday.  My goal was originally to do ten miles by this first weekend, given that I’ve only got three weekens before I aim to run a full marathon, but I decided not to push it, and will aim for ten by the middle of this week.

Today I ran down the length of Bushwick to Evergreen cemetary, and then over the border into Queens and back for a total of six miles.  At this border, I was greeted by a large pile of horse manure.  Having only been two Queens twice in me life, I can only come to two conclusions:

1) It is still the 1800s in Queens, and horses are a fine way to get to Popeye’s, or

2) they have really, really big dogs in Queens.

I found that a slightly higher pace alleviated the tightness in my left knee, most likely because less oxygen is going to my brain.

I tried to beat the heat by running after seven, but still came back a dripping sweat demon:

Behold! Dripping Sweat Demon

Having chased my roommate around the apartment with the diabolical urge to give him a sweaty hug, he distracted me with possibly the greatest heat-related underwear innovation since Cavemen started killing the squirrels before they used them as underwear:

Putting your underwear in the freezer. Doggone is that finger-lickin’ good, though I recommend washing your hands first.

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Marathon Training Day 7: Ran to Queens, Put my Underwear in the Freezer.

  1. Chase says:

    I think you may want to get a facebook button to your website. Just bookmarked the url, however I had to make it by hand. Simply my advice.

    My blog:
    dsl anbieter vergleich und dsl vergleich

  2. Is it ok if I quote your article on my Information Blog? I would think this article suits my topic perfectly. Well, thanks for writing this.

    • big Adam says:

      Sure! Just as long as you link me to your blog and include a link to mine crediting me. Would love to take a look, and i’m glad you’re enjoying mine!

  3. Aw man I only wanted to take a moment to say i love reading your Site!

Leave a Reply

