Marathon Training Day 10: no, I did NOT chase that child for 5 miles

Coming on two weeks to go til my marathon, I’ve begun to notice Bushwick brings with it its own running environment. For example, one must not only pick broken glasses out of one’s shoes at the end of each run. Another example: it is a guarantee that there will be at least on guy doing a wheelie on a motorcycle whose purpose in life seems to be to blow through the intersection and scare the evolutionary primate out of you.

A final example, but mainly a transition to the rest of my story, the seemingly endless number of be-scootered and be-bicycled youthens who are fascinated by someone running around in circles for fun.

Today, a girl of about 13 started tried to scooter past me. Like all recreational athletes, I must take my athleticism and training too seriously, and thus decided to pretend that she was “pacing” me. Now, it may have looked like there was a bearded shirtless man “chasing” a child, but rest assured, this was the case of the greyhound chasing the mechanical rabbit-never to be caught.

Being a were-greyhound (I used to compete as a were-show dog, until a half moon debacle). I got closer then either of us expected, and the scooterizer decided that we were racing and upped her pace. I dropped back to ensure a comfortable distance–recall! I was “pacing” like a pro, not “chasing” like a cheetah–plus I had little interest in instigating a full-on race.

A few blocks later, she looked back to see me still in sight, and upped the pace again. I was committed to keeping her pace, as I wasn’t too far from the finish–but what had started out as a slightly faster pace was now a couple of sub- 7 minute mile, which is not meltdown speed by any means, but still more than I wanted to do on a lazy Sunday

Tomorrow will be aiming for at least 15.

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

