Marathon Training Day 13: 3 weeks of training, 10 days til marathon

After my 15-miler this past Tuesday, I did some bicycle cross-training, as I had some pain in my left foot along with a general crappy feeling in the rest of my lower body (plus a gnarly sunburn). Put 20 miles in with some decent hills on Wednesday, then put in an easy, easy 8 on Thursday just to get myself loosened up.

Friday I went back to running-doing 5 miles. It’s amazing how quickly one adjusts to distances–5 miles felt like nothing compared to the 2 grueling hours I spent running only a few days before.

I’ve now been training for 3 weeks exactly for this marathon, and I have only ten days left until Wednesday, the 31st a.k.a D-day, a.k.a possibly crap myself from pushing my body to hard day.

A few logistics: a friend has graciously offered to bicycle beside me during the marathon–she will be carrying water, a map, and a camera over the NYC marathon course, dutifully supporting and gleefully documenting my marathon attempt. I’ll be running at 4 A.M. so that she can get to work after.

Tomorrow I’m putting in my 18 to 20-miler, and will be running over the NYC marathon course to get familiarized with it.

Time to start thinking about next month’s 30-day project, too…

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

