Marathon Training Day 14: 19 miles, 1 ice bath

Yesterday was my last long run before the marathon next Wednesday–19 miles. I ran roughly the last 17 miles of the marathon route: up through Brooklyn, over the Queensboro, and then looping up to the Bronx and back to Central Park.

They say pride cometh before the fall. Now, I don’t know what cometh means, but other things like curbs or banana peels also come before the fall, too. And by mile 16, I wanted to fall-in fact it would have been a nice rest, whether it be from curbs, cometh, or pride.

A pain in my left foot’s arched kicked in around mile 5 and got steadily worse.
By the time I came over the Queensboro bridge, I was favoring my right foot and trying to run on the side of my left foot. At mile 15, I’m not sure if this pain went away, or was just subsumed into a general lower body pain-mostly my left hip (probably from changing my gait). I was so thirsty, my spit refused to be spat, instead dangling on my lips, and I had to stop and get something to drink. Towards the end I was practically mumbling to myself about how much I had left. After the run, I was shivering from my body over-cooling itself.

This run was the first time I really got a taste of the distance and of the mental game that is going to be played next Wednesday.

Ice baths and lots of short, easy runs until next Wednesday are in order–if there is an injury that is going to threaten my marathon, its the foot

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Training Day 14: 19 miles, 1 ice bath

  1. Golly. I wish you all the luck with this. I also hope your next 30-day challenge is to be really cool to yourself.

Leave a Reply

