New month project: Build a Windmill, Charge my Cellphone

Friends, Apemen and women, over-indulged pets, I am pleased to announce that for my next thirty day project, I will be building a windmill.
While I suggested it amongst some other proposed projects, it was you, dear voters, who chose the windmill project.

I am excited about this project because I think renting an apartment in a big city (NYC) often means that people don’t see any way to “green” their home. My goal is to develop a DIY guide to building a windmill that can work in a New York City apartment without risking one’s rent check or security deposit.

Having run a marathon (August’s project) and written a short story a day for the month of September (two are written, but are yet to be published), this latest project is the one that is taking me furthest out of my comfort zone. A marathon was hard, and at points I struggled to come up with something even worth attempting to write, but endurance-oriented physical challenges and writing are two things that I’ve enjoyed doing for a long, long time. Building a windmill, on the other hand, requires a knowledge base of electronics and building, which I have none of, so the biggest part of this challenge will be scrambling to keep up with the sharp learning curve dictated by trying to do this in a month.

There is one major caveat to this program: I will be building a windmill, with the secondary goal of publishing an easy, cheap, DIY process for those who might want to do the same in their own NYC apartment (most DIY windmills are built by people with lots of land). HOWEVER, due to some concerns that a windmill is not actually all that useful in New York City, I am expanding my goal to “being able to effectively charge my cellphone via renewable energy.” So while the windmill is the main focus, I may also find it necessary to supplement it with a small solar panel (and another trick I may have up my sleeve).

So to be clear: This is “Build a Windmill, Charge my cellphone” month.

Hope you are enjoying this blog, and if you have any tips, experience, or know a very patient electrical engineer, let me know!

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New month project: Build a Windmill, Charge my Cellphone

  1. Sheila says:

    Raj is so excited…

Leave a Reply

