Building My Own Wind Turbine: The Shopping LIst

Figuring out the the controller to make sure that my windmill doesn’t go the way of the zeppelin has taken longer than expected.  I have a way forward (begging engineer friends to explain), but for the time being, I figure I might as well go pick up the supplies I will need to build it.

Here is the list:

1. A generator

Off of ebay–you want something rated for high voltage at low RPM.  Will be purchasing mine tomorrow off of ebay (they’re way cheaper there) and will post the specific brand there.  Amtek is the most popular brand, and at this point, it doesn’t come cheap

2. Blades

Going off of this site, but I will be buying 6 inches of PVC pipe and having them cut there to this template.

3. Hub-will have to wait until I see what I can do with the generator.

4. Mounting-this is the bit that will allow it to spin in the wind.

a. 2×4 wood

b. tail-aluminum sheet (will try to scavenge)

c. 1 inch floor flange

d. 10 inch nipple

e. 1 1/4 Steel conduit

f. counterweight for tail (will scavenge once I know the weight of the motor)

5. Controller

4 high-wattage resistors

1 65 amp diode

1 1n4007 rectifier

1 65 amp SPDT relay

1. fuse-65 amps

1 1-amp fuse

1 LM7808 +8V voltage regulator

1 LM 1458 Dual Operation Amplifier

4001 Quad 2-input NOR gateIRF540 MOSFET

1 yellow LED

1 green LED

5.Batteries

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Building My Own Wind Turbine: The Shopping LIst

  1. Sheila says:

    What’s happened? Where are the projects? Where are the results?

Leave a Reply

