Januray’s 30 day project: Tracking everything, obsessively.

Simmering squirrels Batman, I sure am glad December is finally over–the no-trash project threw me for one hell of a loop. I stayed under 20 items (mostly napkins and receipts). However, what I thought would be pretty basic rule to follow ended up being a somewhat shocking insight into how much of our lives (and our expectations of comfort and convenience) are predicated on our access to disposable items.  The illusion that I didn’t rely on plastic bags or packaging was effectively dispelled. By thinking about trash in my own life, I effectively undid the societal magic trick of sanitation departments-everything I threw away stayed in my life, instead of disappearing into containers and trucks.

This month I’m taking this exercise in self-awareness in a slightly new direction: I am going to track everything I do, from how much I sleep to what I eat to how much time I spend online.  There will be no restrictions, but if focusing on the amount of trash in my life can give me such insight, imagine what a whole month could bring.

I will be tracking and indexing things everyday starting today, which given my headache and the vengeful ghost of last night’s champagne, should prove an interesting starting point.

I will be posting an index daily, as well as tweeting about it here: bigadamblog.

Peace y’all. Hope its something interesting.

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

