January’s self-tracking project: Days 10 and 11

Is knowing thyself enough?  The dictum, which fortunately has a robust (and interesting) wikipedia page seems to be at the core of this project–and all others like it.  But to what end? Knowing yourself is great–being able to say just how much time you spend watching TV instead of just feeling like you spend too much time boobtubing is a great thing.  This knowledge, unfortunately, often simply ends at self-awareness–at self-congratulation for good habits and mild (but no less pleasureable) flagellation for bad ones.  It is like a friend who is always saying how xyz is going to make them fat. The knowledge is there, the connection to action is not.  Or a patient who needs to lower his cholesterol but instead of holding off on the cream cheese merely points out that they “at least don’t do heroin”, which really flies in the face of the forthcoming Keith Richards diet book.  We are an animal smart enough to know how to prolong our lives, but too smart to allow our life-saving instincts to rule our behavior.

It is somewhat of an obnoxious stance for me to unpack a part of huma nature of which we are  all apart and aware.  My goal isn’t to set myself aside (or above) other people–but I’m at a curiously level of intellectual mediocrity that I am only interested in an idea as far as I can act on it.  For more existential–and therefore utterly silly–reasons I can say that I have the motivation, at least, to give over portions of my day to trcking everything I can find useful.  But as we near the end of week two, my interest is shifting to using this meagre two weeks of data to start thinking about ways to improve my health, my environmental impact, or my productivity.

Knowing how many bananas I eat is only interesting to me in as far as I know how many will turn me into a bonafide George of the Jungle–and how many more I need to eat to make that a reality.  I want to do something with this info, just not sure what, yet.

Enough.

Here are my chartsies (for right now, I’m just compounding it from day one). The first is my favorite. As a good illustration of how pointless these charts can be, it lists my foods starting with ‘most recently eaten”.  This happens to be pickles, and its always amusing to see “pickles” in big letters.

Dinner

Lunch

Time Spent

About Big Adam

A NYC doorman, a community organizer, wannabe ape, sometimes blogger, sometimes writer, always crossword puzzle incompleter, I will ride bicycles with your papa, dance Bhangra with your mama, take you on dates that cost nada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

